Fishpork’s 10 Most Anticipated Albums of 2013

1. The Knife – Shaking the Habitual (April 8, 2013)

Nothing really comes close to the anticipation we have for The Knife’s new album. Karin’s Fever Ray solo project was the perfect hold-over until the new material is unleashed in April. The brother-sister duo posted an eerie teaser for the new record due in April (see below):

2. Keaton Henson – Birthdays (February 25, 2013)

Upon first listen of his self-released Dear … in 2011, we were hooked for life. After an official release in 2012 and a string of singles and B-sides, we don’t have much longer to wait for another collection of moody, self-deprecating, acoustic lullabies. Mr. Henson releases his full-length Birthdays follow-up in February, but I still didn’t get the Christmas card from my pre-order. First single, “Sweetheart, What Have You Don’t to Us, ” was one of our favorite tracks of 2012 and our favorite video (see below):

3. Tool – Untitled (no date confirmed)

The band has supposedly just about completed the tracks for the new LP and are waiting for Maynard to find the time to get into the studio and add lyrics. Danny Carey promises that we’ll see it released in 2013. Fingers crosssed!

4. Tomahawk – OddFellows (January 29, 2013)

It’s been more than five years since Mike Patton and company released a Tomahawk record. Patton’s been hinting at this one for years, and we finally get a release date of January 29 to look forward to. If the teaser sampler (below) is any indication, it will live up to our self-induced hype.

5. Queens of the Stone Age – Untitled (no date confirmed)

Lullabies to Paralyze and Era Vulgaris have been staples in the Fishpork playlist since they were released. Now some of the old gang’s coming back (Dave Grohl is on drums and former bassist Nick Oliveri lends his vocals on a track). Trent Reznor was also involved. All signs are pointing to another epic release to the QOTSA catalog.

6. Atoms for Peace – Amok (February 25, 2013)

Atoms for Peace was originally created as the touring band for Thom Yorke’s The Eraser side project with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich. The record was earth-shattering in our eyes. Now Thom and Nigel wrote another record with Flea. “Default,” the first song we’ve heard off the record is good but not great. There is a lot to look forward to on this one. Yes, we like the electronic side of Radiohead.

7. Modest Mouse – Untitled (no date confirmed)

There is little to no news on the Modest Mouse front. Supposedly the band was in the studio with Big Boi in 2011. And now Isaac is saying that there’s no real excuse to their delay to release the new record beyond being lazy. Can we assume that those 2011 sessions were scrapped? It’s sad to watch one of my all-time favorite bands continue their decline into irrelevance, but we’re holding out hope for the band to get their shit together and release new material sooner than later.

8. HEALTH – Untitled (no date confirmed)
9. Phoenix – Untitled (no dated confirmed)
10. Eels – Wonderful, Glorious (February 5, 2013)


Additional albums we’re anticipating:

  • Beck – Untitled (no date confirmed)
  • Arcade Fire – Untitled (no date confirmed)
  • Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs – Untitled (no date confirmed)
  • How to Destroy Angels – Untitled (no date confirmed)
Mark Written by:

Avid concert goer and film buff obsessed with indie and electronic music.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.